This quick start guide introduces users to the UCS Briefcase tool and its features.


Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Briefcase can be used to create, manage, and store documents. Files that are stored within a Briefcase can be accessed from any computer with an Internet connection. Additionally, a Briefcase can be shared with other users in order to assist with collaboration and version control.

Create a New Briefcase Folder

A single briefcase folder, called Briefcase, is created for each user when his or her account is created. Users have the ability to add additional Briefcase folders as needed.

  1. Click the Briefcase.
  2. Click the Options button (Gear icon) in the Folders Overview pane.
  3. Select New Briefcase from the drop-down menu.
  4. Type a briefcase name in the Name: field.
  5. Select a color from the Color drop-down menu.
  6. Select a location for the new briefcase folder.
  7. Click the OK.

Create a New Briefcase Document

  1. Click the New Document button in the toolbar.
  2. Create your document in the Zimbra Docs browser.
  3. Type a file name into the textbox.
  4. Click the Save button to save the document and continue working, or click the Save & Close button to close the new document editing screen.

Add a File to the Briefcase

Upload a File from a Local Computer

  1. Select the Briefcase where the file is to be stored.
  2. Click the Upload File button in the Briefcase toolbar.
  3. Click the Choose File.
  4. Navigate to the file’s location.
  5. Select the file.
  6. Click the Open.
  7. Click OK.

NOTE: The file size limit is 100MB.

Add a File from an Email Attachment

  1. Click the Mail.
  2. Select the Inbox.
  3. Open the email message with the attachment.
  4. Click the Briefcase link above the message.
  5. Select a Briefcase.
  6. Click OK.

NOTE: When a file is downloaded from an email into a Briefcase, a copy is made. Briefcase files count against a UCS accounts’ quota. To save space, remove the attachment from the original email by clicking the Remove link above the body of the email message.

Open/Download a Briefcase File

Files in the Briefcase can be opened from any computer after a user logs in to his or her account. However, the computer must have the appropriate software application installed in order to open the file.

Open a File Created in the Briefcase

  1. Right-click the file.
  2. Select Open from the drop-down menu.

Download a Briefcase File to Your Computer

  1. Select the file in the Briefcase folder.
  2. Click the Download button on the toolbar.
  3. Save a copyof the file to your local computer.

Move/Delete a Briefcase File

Move a File to another Briefcase Folder

  1. Select the file to be moved.
  2. Click the Move button in the Briefcase toolbar.
  3. Select a Briefcase folder from the drop-down menu.

Delete a File within a Briefcase Folder

  1. Check the box to the left of the file(s) to be deleted.
  2. Click the Delete button in the Briefcase toolbar.
  3. Click the Yes button in the Confirmation dialog box.

Tag a Briefcase File

Users have the ability to organize their emails, calendar items, tasks, and briefcase files with color-coded tags.

Create a New Tag

  1. Click the Options button (Gear icon) next to the Tags heading in the Overview pane.
  2. Select New Tag from the drop-down menu.
  3. Type a tag name in the Tag Name textbox.
  4. Click the OK

Apply a Tag to a File

  1. Select the file to be tagged.
  2. Click the Tag button in the Briefcase toolbar.
  3. Select a Tag from the drop-down menu.

Share a Briefcase

Users can share Briefcase folders with internal UCS users, Penn State individuals not on UCS, and the public. Internal users can be granted full access to the Briefcase while Penn State individuals not on UCS and the public are restricted to read-only access.

  1. Select the down arrow next to the Briefcase folder.
  2. Select Share Folder from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the radio button for the appropriate user group.
  4. Type the email address of the user.
  5. Select a role for the user(s):
  • Viewer: the user can view files in your briefcase
  • Manager: the user can view, edit, add, and remove files in your briefcase
  • Admin: the user can view, edit, add, remove, and administer files in your briefcase
  1. Select an option for sending a notification message to the individual(s) that have been given access to your briefcase from the drop-down list.
  2. Click the OK.

NOTE: To view a public briefcase’s contents, go to: https://ucs.psu.edu/homes/xyz123/BriefcaseName.

Accept/Decline a Shared Briefcase

By default, users will receive an email notification when they have been granted access to another user’s briefcase. If you are an internal UCS user, accepting the shared Briefcase will automatically add the other user’s Briefcase to your Briefcase list.

  1. Click the Mail.
  2. Open the shared briefcase email notification.
  3. Click the Accept or Decline button above the email.
  4. Click the Briefcase.

Open a Shared Briefcase

Internal UCS users can search for a shared Briefcase if the notification email has not been sent by the Briefcase owner.

  1. Click the Find Shares… link in the Overview pane.
  2. Type the user’semail address in the Find Shares… field.
  3. Click the Search.
  4. Select the shared Briefcase.
  5. Click the Add.

The shared Briefcase will appear below your Briefcase folders. To change the name or color of the Briefcase, right-click the folder, select Edit Properties, and make your changes.

Change/Revoke Access Privileges

In addition to granting access privileges to your Briefcase folder(s), you can change or revoke access privileges at any time.

To Change Access Privileges

  1. Select the down arrow next to the Briefcase folder.
  2. Select Edit Properties from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the Edit link below the Sharing for This Folder heading for the user you wish to change.
  4. Change the role of the user.
  5. Click the OK.

To Revoke Access Privileges

  1. Select the down arrow next to the Briefcase folder.
  2. Select Edit Properties from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the Revoke link below the Sharing for This Folder heading for the user you with to revoke.
  4. Click the Yes button in the warning dialog box.
  5. Click the OK.

Edit a Briefcase File

If you shared a briefcase with another user, using the check-out feature will help manage the editing of a file. Other users will not be able to edit the file while it is checked out.

Edit a File Previously Uploaded to the Briefcase

  1. Select the file.
  2. Select Check Out File from the Actions drop-down menu.
  3. Save the file to your local computer.
  4. Edit and save the file.
  5. Select Check In File from the Actions drop-down menu.
  6. Select the Browse.
  7. Locate the file on your local computer.
  8. Click the Open.
  9. Select Check In.

To Edit a UCS Briefcase Zimbra Document

  1. Select the document.
  2. Click the Actions button in the Briefcase toolbar.
  3. Select Check Out File from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select the document.
  5. Click the Edit button on the toolbar.
  6. Edit the document.
  7. Click the Save & Close.

NOTE: Checking the file back in creates a new version of the file. The latest version number is displayed in the file document list. Click the arrow to the left of the file to view previous versions.

Training for: 
Faculty
Staff
Students
Type of Training: 
Documentation
Training Topic: 
Collaboration
Communication
Training Level: 
Introduction

Training for: 
Faculty
Staff
Students
Type of Training: 
Documentation
Training Topic: 
Collaboration
Communication